Article will continue after advertisement

The targeting rule in college football is one of the worst enforced ones in the game. Hits that seem harmless get flagged for targeting while others that seem pretty egregious get nothing. This hit from a Texas player on a seemingly defenseless Oklahoma State receiver falls under the latter category:

RELATED: Unlike Pac-12, Big Ten is admitting they got a targeting call wrong

That seems like the Longhorn player totally led with his head and launched himself at a receiver who could not defend against any sort of hit. However, since the receiver was wrapped up he is not considered defenseless despite the fact that seems to be the definition of defenseless. This is the kind of hit that needs to result in a penalty or at least some sort of suspension after the game. Fortunately, it is not affecting the outcome of this game as the Cowboys are winning 43-25 in the third quarter.

Module Voice Image