Jim McElwain just got a raise, making him one of the highest-paid SEC coaches

Florida head coach Jim McElwain just got himself a nice little pay-day Following a 10-4 season and an SEC East Championship during his inaugural season in Gainesville, Fla. in 2015. On Friday, it was announced that the second-year head coach has earned a $750,000 raise, which brings his annual salary up from $3.5 million a year to $4.25 million annually.

“We recognized early in Coach Mac’s tenure that he totally changed the vibe around football for The Gator Nation and in the building,” athletic director Jeremy Foley said in a statement via “Dr. Fuchs and I first talked about this in mid-October — we didn’t want to make it about winning one game or advancing to the SEC Championship Game. We wanted to make a change because of the direction of the program and his leadership.”

McElwain’s raise now makes him the SEC East’s highest-paid head coach. He edged out Tennessee’s Butch Jones, who earned a $500,000 raise last December, bringing his salary to $4.1 million per year. New Georgia head coach Kirby Smart’s first-year salary is good for $3.75 million a year, whereas Will Muschamp is expected to earn $3 million during his first season in Columbia, S.C.

In the SEC West, the salaries are much higher. Alabama head coach Nick Saban made $7.1 million last season. That’s not including the bonuses he received for winning the National Title, which were a whopping $525,000 for on-field, team performance bonuses, and an extra $100,000 bonus for team academic performance. Texas A&M’s Kevin Sumlin makes $5 million annually, and Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze is right behind him, making $4.7 million annually.

Check out the full list of SEC coaching salaries below.

Nick Saban, Alabama: $7.09 million

Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M: $5 million

Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss: $4.7 million

Les Miles, LSU: $4.39 million

Gus Malzahn, Auburn: $4.35 million

Jim McElwain, Florida: $4.25 million

Butch Jones, Tennessee: $4.13 million

Bret Bielema, Arkansas: $4.06 million

Dan Mullen, Miss. State: $4 million

Kirby Smart, Georgia: $3.75 million

Mark Stoops, Kentucky: $3.5 million

Will Muschamp, South Carolina: $3.0 million


Barry Odom, Missouri: $2.35 million

Stories You Might Like