Outrageous things happen in softball all the time. Runners going full scorpion in face plants, walk-off triple plays and dirty catchers elbowing runners into the Earth's crust are somehow normal between the foul lines.
One aspect of the game every player and team has to handle is terrible umpires. Missed calls are going to happen, but that doesn't warrant a pitcher intentionally drilling the blue calling balls and strikes.
In one high school district title game, an early celebration on a blown call led to one of the most heartbreaking walk-off losses you'll ever see.
Softball Team Celebrates Early, Loses on Blown Call
Wylie High School and McKinney North High School were engulfed in a nail-biter of a Texas title softball game back in 2016.
The bases were loaded, and Wylie led by two runs with two outs in the seventh inning. The pitcher induced a ground ball to the shortstop, who flipped to second base for what looked to be the game-winning force-out.
Everyone on the field and in the stands thought the girl sliding into second was out and the game was over except for one man: the field umpire. If you look closely, he clearly extends his arms out to call her safe.
He blew it.
Wylie fielders threw their gloves up in premature celebration anyway. Meanwhile, the McKinney North third base coach waved her arm like a propeller sending her base runners home. All three runners — including the girl who thought she was out at second base — came around to score the winning run to cap an incredible and bizarre walk-off ending to the district championship game.
The play garnered attention from ESPN and CBS and racked up more than 1,000,000 views on YouTube.
Let this serve as a reminder to always play until the final out is called. As the old saying goes, it's not over until the fat lady sings.
This post was originally published on October 28, 2020 but it's still a terrible call by the umpire.
Want More Sports News?
Get the biggest and best sports news sent directly to your inbox.