jimmie johnson wreck at the clash 2019 YouTube: NASCAR on FOX
YouTube: NASCAR on FOX

The very first exhibition race of the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series was the Advanced Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach. The entry list was stacked with talented full-time drivers, and things got serious once they saw the green flag. The next 59 laps included numerous aggressive maneuvers by many of the drivers in order to work their way up the pack in a short time, but Jimmie Johnson’s move at the end undoubtedly stole the spotlight.

The Clash has been around since 1979, and it’s always provided some fantastic racing action. The event in 2019 was no exception. From the qualifying to the finish, these drivers wanted to finish strong in the first race of the season. Things were going good, and Paul Menard appeared to be on his way to a victory, until Johnson tried to make a move during the final remaining laps.

Johnson had a run on Menard and quickly jumped to the inside lane to pass, but he mad a small miscalculation in his proximity to the race leader. He didn’t entirely maintain his inside lane and ended up clipping the bumper of Menard as he made his pass. This sent Menard sideways, and the result was practically the entire field getting caught in a massive pileup. To add insult to injury, Johnson even went on to grab the first-place finish in the final results.

Just below, you’ll see a video of the whole scene as it played out in real time, a post-race interview from Johnson himself, and the final race results. It’s a pretty controversial finish and a bit unfortunate for many, but these things happen from time to time, especially in a short race such as The Clash.

2019 Advance Auto Parts Clash Race Results

1. Jimmie Johnson ? Hendrick Motorsports ? No. 48 Chevrolet

2. Kurt Busch ? Chip Ganassi Racing ? No. 1 Chevrolet

3. Joey Logano ? Team Penske ? No. 22 Ford

4. Ryan Blaney ? Team Penske ? No. 12 Ford

5. Alex Bowman ? Hendrick Motorsports ? No. 88 Chevrolet

6. Austin Dillon ? Richard Childress Racing ? No. 3 Chevrolet

7. Chase Elliott ? Hendrick Motorsports ? No. 9 Chevrolet

8. Aric Almirola ? Stewart-Haas Racing ? No. 10 Ford


9. Ryan Newman ? Roush Fenway Racing ? No. 6 Ford

?10. Daniel Suárez ? Stewart-Haas Racing ? No. 41 Ford

11. Jamie McMurray ? Spire Motorsports ? No. 40 Chevrolet

12. Kevin Harvick ? Stewart-Haas Racing ? No. 4 Ford

13. Paul Menard ? Wood Brothers Racing ? No. 21 Ford

14. Kyle Busch ? Joe Gibbs Racing ? No. 18 Toyota


15. Martin Truex Jr. ? Joe Gibbs Racing ? No. 19 Toyota

16. Clint Bowyer ? Stewart-Haas Racing ? No. 14 Ford

17. Denny Hamlin ? Joe Gibbs Racing ? No. 11 Toyota

18. Brad Keselowski ? Team Penske ? No. 2 Ford

19. Kyle Larson ? Chip Ganassi Racing ? No. 42 Chevrolet

20. Erik Jones ? Joe Gibbs Racing ? No. 20 Toyota

WATCH: Jeff Gordon Visits Dale Earnhardt?s Statue in Touching Tribute

Stories You Might Like