This is what happens when, apparently, you don’t know the rules.
With Super Bowl LI in overtime, Fox Sports, at the 12:07 mark, flashed a graphic that simply said:
New England Patriots win Super Bowl with touchdown.
That would be accurate. Under the NFL overtime rules, if a team scores a touchdown on the first possession the game is over; if the team only manages a afield goal, the opposing team gets a chance to tie or win the game. When New England scored a touchdown against the Atlanta Falcons, they won. Period, end of story.
A social media user who goes by the name of Kelly Mac may not have been aware of the rules because she came up with this, which has gone viral:
He’s right about the internet, by the way.