NEW YORK, NY - DECEMBER 10: (L-R) Heisman finalists Dede Westbrook of the Oklahoma Sooners, Deshaun Watson of the Clemson Tigers, Jabrill Peppers of the Michigan Wolverines, Baker Mayfield of the Oklahoma Sooners and Lamar Jackson of the Louisville Cardinals pose for a photo with the Heisman trophy during a press conference prior to the 2016 Heisman Trophy Presentation at the Marriott Marquis on December 10, 2016 in New York City. (Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images)

2016 Heisman Trophy winner finally announced

This was the right choice.

We have a new Heisman Trophy winner!

On Saturday, Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson was announced as the winner of the 2016 Heisman Trophy. Jackson is now the youngest player to win the Heisman Trophy, beating out Florida State's Jameis Winston by a few days.

Jackson exploded onto the college football scene early in the season, most notably in Louisville's 62-20 win over then No. 2 Florida State. While Louisville would lose three times throughout the season, Jackson's stats and performance far surpassed every other player in college football.

Those stats? 3,390 passing yards, 1,538 rushing yards, and a whopping 51 total touchdowns.

Jackson will look to close out his sensational true sophomore season in the Citrus Bowl against LSU.