AP Photo/Richard Shiro, File (left), Ric Tapia via AP (right)

AP Announces College Football's Preseason All-American Teams


Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence headlines The Associated Press preseason All-America team, and he has two teammates from the top-ranked Tigers with him on the first team.

Lawrence, the first freshman to quarterback to lead a team to a national championship in more than 30 years, was joined on the first-team offense by Clemson running back Travis Etienne in the list released Tuesday and presented by Regions Bank. Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons was a first-team selection on defense. Clemson and No. 2 Alabama tied for the most first-team selections with three.

Wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, an All-American last season, was selected to the preseason first team, along with defensive lineman Raekwon Davis and linebacker Dylan Moses.

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, the Heisman Trophy runner-up, was selected to the second team.


Led by Alabama, the Southeastern Conference placed eight players on the first team, one more than the Big Ten.

The AP All-America team is sponsored by Regions Bank this season, the first time the venerable player honor roll that dates to 1925 has ever had a presenting sponsor.



Quarterback -- Trevor Lawrence, sophomore, Clemson.

Running back -- Jonathan Taylor, junior, Wisconsin; Travis Etienne, junior, Clemson.


Tackles -- Andrew Thomas, junior, Georgia; Walker Little, junior, Stanford.

Guards -- Shane Lemieux, senior, Oregon; Ben Bredeson, senior, Michigan.

Center -- Tyler Biadasz, junior, Wisconsin.

Tight end -- Albert Okwuegbunam, junior, Missouri.


Wide receivers -- Jerry Jeudy, junior, Alabama; Tylan Wallace, junior, Oklahoma State.

All-purpose player -- Rondale Moore, sophomore, Purdue.

Kicker -- Andre Szmyt, sophomore, Syracuse.


Ends -- Chase Young, junior, Ohio State; A.J. Epenesa, junior, Iowa.


Tackles -- Derrick Brown, senior, Auburn; Raekwon Davis, senior, Alabama.

Linebackers -- Dylan Moses, junior, Alabama; Isaiah Simmons, junior, Clemson; Joe Bachie, senior, Michigan State.

Cornerbacks -- Bryce Hall, senior, Virginia; Paulson Adebo, junior, Stanford.

Safeties -- Grant Delpit, junior, LSU; Andre Cisco, sophomore, Syracuse.


Punter -- Braden Mann, senior, Texas A&M.



Quarterback -- Tua Tagovailoa, junior, Alabama.

Running backs -- D'Andre Swift, junior, Georgia; Eno Benjamin, junior, Arizona State.

Tackles -- Trey Adams, senior, Washington; Calvin Throckmorton, senior, Oregon.


Guards -- Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame; John Simpson, senior, Clemson.

Center -- Nick Harris, senior, Washington.

Tight end -- Jared Pinkney, senior, Vanderbilt.

Wide receivers -- Laviska Shenault Jr., junior, Colorado; Justyn Ross, sophomore, Clemson.


All-purpose player -- CeeDee Lamb, junior, Oklahoma.

Kicker -- Rodrigo Blankenship, senior, Georgia.


Ends -- Kenny Willekes, senior, Michigan State; Julian Okwara, senior, Notre Dame.

Tackles -- Leki Fotu, senior, Utah; Marvin Wilson, junior, Florida State.


Linebackers -- Paddy Fisher, junior, Northwestern; Evan Weaver, senior, California; Shaquille Quarterman, senior, Miami.

Cornerbacks -- Kristian Fulton, senior, LSU; CJ Henderson, junior, Florida.

Safeties -- Alohi Gillman, junior, Notre Dame; Jordan Fuller, senior, Ohio State.

Punter -- James Smith, junior, Cincinnati.


READ MORE: AP Top 25: Clemson Begins No. 1 in 2019's Preseason Rankings