One of college football’s top awards just got an awful corporate makeover Scott Halleran/Getty Images
COLLEGE STATION, TX - OCTOBER 11: Footballs sit on the field prior to the start of their game between the Mississippi Rebels and the Texas A&M Aggies at Kyle Field on October 11, 2014 in College Station, Texas. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)

One of the most well known and prestigious college football awards will have a different ring to it moving forward.

The Jim Thorpe Award, presented annually by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame, will now be known as the Paycom Jim Thrope Award. The Thorpe Award honors the best defensive back in the country.

Related: This stat shows exactly why the Thorpe Award list makes no sense 

According to Yahoo, Paycom is a “leading provider of comprehensive, cloud-based human capital management software delivered as Software as a Service.” It is headquartered in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame museum exhibit for Thorpe will similarly be named the Paycom Jim Thorpe Exhibit.

The name change wasn’t well received on social media.

Previous winners of the Thorpe Award include Adoree’ Jackson, Morris Claiborne, Patrick Peterson, Eric Berry and Charles Woodson.

Future winners will receive the same honor, but they’ll have to settle for a far less enjoyable award name.

(h/t Yahoo)

Cole Frederick About the author:
Cole Frederick is from a small town in Alabama, and he graduated from the University of Mississippi with a degree in journalism. He loves all sports - especially football and basketball - and quotes The Office frequently.
View More Articles

Stories You Might Like