IOWA CITY, IOWA- SEPTEMBER 17: Defensive end Anthony Nelson #98 of the Iowa Hawkeyes grabs the ankle of quarterback Easton Stick #12 of the North Dakota State Bisons in the second quarter, on September 17, 2016 at Kinnick Stadium in Iowa City, Iowa. (Photo by Matthew Holst/Getty Images)

One of the greatest streaks in sports is now over


One of the most impressive streaks in sports ended Friday night in Fargo, North Dakota.

Related: FCS college football playoff game gets started with the old hidden player trick play

James Madison defeated North Dakota State 27-17, snapping the Bison's streak of five consecutive FCS championships.

North Dakota State has been one of the most dominant programs in college football since 2011. The Bison won five titles under two different coaches. Chris Klieman won the last two titles, and current Wyoming coach Craig Bohl won the first three.


For comparison's sake, no team in FCS has ever won four straight outright championships. In D-II football, North Alabama won three straight titles, and Augustana (Ill.) won four straight in D-III.

James Madison advanced to the FCS Championship Game to play Youngstown State on Saturday, Jan. 7.

(h/t SB Nation)