AP Photo/Brynn Anderson

Alabama Leads Nation With 6 First-Team All-American Selections


Heisman Trophy finalists Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith have been selected to The Associated Press All-America team, leading a contingent of five Alabama players on the first-team offense.

Crimson Tide running back Najee Harris, tackle Alex Leatherwood and center Landon Dickerson are also first-team selections. No. 1 Alabama is the first team since 1980, when the AP All-America team began featuring two wide receivers and two running backs, to place a quarterback, running back and receiver on the first team.

Cornerback Patrick Surtain II gives the Crimson Tide six first-team selections, the most in the nation. No. 4 Notre Dame, Alabama's College Football Playoff opponent this weekend, has two first-team All-Americans in offensive guard Aaron Banks and linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah.


Florida's Kyle Trask was selected second-team quarterback and fellow Heisman finalist Trevor Lawrence of Clemson was the third-team quarterback on the AP teams released Monday. Lawrence, the likely first pick in the next NFL draft, made AP All-America for the first time in his career.

No. 2 Clemson, which will face No. 3 Ohio State in the CFP semifinal at the Sugar Bowl on Friday night, had only one other player selected to the All-America teams: Running back Travis Etienne made the first-team as all-purpose player. The senior has been a second-team All-American at running back the last two seasons.

Ohio State guard Wyatt Davis is the only player to repeat as a first-team All-American after making it in 2020. Davis is one of two Buckeyes on the first team along with cornerback Shaun Wade.



The 2020 AP All-America team:

RELATED: DeVonta Smith Cemented Himself as Alabama's Best WR Ever




Quarterback -- Mac Jones, junior, Alabama.

Running backs -- Najee Harris, senior, Alabama; Breece Hall, sophomore, Iowa State.

Tackles -- Brady Christensen, junior, BYU; Alex Leatherwood, senior, Alabama.

Guards -- Aaron Banks, senior, Notre Dame; Wyatt Davis, junior, Ohio State.


Center -- Landon Dickerson, senior, Alabama.

Tight end -- Kyle Pitts, junior, Florida.

Receivers -- DeVonta Smith, senior, Alabama; Elijah Moore, junior, Mississippi.

All-purpose player -- Travis Etienne, senior, Clemson.


Kicker -- Jose Borregales, senior, Miami.


Ends -- Rashad Weaver, senior, Pitt; Tarron Jackson, senior, Coastal Carolina.

Tackles -- Daviyon Nixon, junior, Iowa; Darius Stills, senior, West Virginia.


Linebackers -- Zaven Collins, junior, Tulsa; Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, senior, Notre Dame; Joseph Ossai, junior, Texas.

Cornerbacks -- Patrick Surtain II, junior, Alabama; Shaun Wade, senior, Ohio State.

Safeties -- Talanoa Hufanga, junior, Southern California; Brandon Joseph, redshirt freshman, Northwestern.

Punter -- Pressley Harvin III, senior, Georgia Tech.




Quarterback -- Kyle Trask, senior, Florida.

Running backs -- Jaret Patterson, junior, Buffalo; Javonte Williams, junior, North Carolina.


Tackles -- Liam Eichenberg, senior, Notre Dame; Christian Darrisaw, junior, Virginia Tech.

Guards -- Cain Madden, junior, Marshall; Kenyon Green, sophomore, Texas A&M.

Center -- Tyler Linderbaum, sophomore, Iowa.

Tight end -- Hunter Long, junior, Boston College.


Receivers -- Jaelon Darden, senior, North Texas; Jonathan Adams Jr., senior, Arkansas State.

All-purpose player -- Kadarius Toney, senior, Florida.

Kicker -- Cade York, sophomore, LSU.



Ends -- Jaelen Phillips, senior, Miami; Patrick Jones, senior, Pitt.

Tackles -- Alim McNeil, junior, North Carolina State; Haskell Garrett, senior, Ohio State.

Linebackers -- Mike Rose, junior, Iowa State; Nik Bonitto, sophomore, Oklahoma; Nick Bolton, junior, Missouri.

Cornerbacks --Tre'Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, sophomore, TCU; Ahmad Gardner, sophomore, Cincinnati.


Safeties -- Trevon Moehrig, junior, TCU; James Wiggins, senior, Cincinnati.

Punter -- Lou Hedley, junior, Miami.




Quarterback -- Trevor Lawrence, junior, Clemson.

Running backs -- Michael Carter, senior, North Carolina; Mohamed Ibrahim, junior, Minnesota.

Tackles -- Darian Kinnard, junior, Kentucky; Samuel Cosmi, junior, Texas.

Guards -- Ben Cleveland, senior, Georgia; Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame.


Center -- Creed Humphrey, junior, Oklahoma.

Tight end -- Charlie Kolar, junior, Iowa State.

Receivers -- Dyami Brown, junior, North Carolina; Ty Fryfogle, senior, Indiana.

All-purpose player -- Avery Williams, senior, Boise State.


Kicker -- Jake Oldroyd, sophomore, BYU.


Ends -- JaQuan Bailey, senior, Iowa State; Kayvon Thibodeaux, sophomore, Oregon.

Tackles -- Christian Barmore, sophomore, Alabama; C.J. Brewer, senior, Coastal Carolina.


Linebackers -- Zion Tupuola-Fetui, junior, Washington; Micah McFadden, junior, Indiana; Dylan Moses, senior, Alabama.

Cornerbacks -- Greg Newsome, junior, Northwestern; Eli Ricks, freshman, LSU.

Safeties -- Kyle Hamilton, sophomore, Notre Dame; Tykee Smith, sophomore, West Virginia.

Punter -- Jake Camarda, junior, Georgia.


MORE: Mac Jones' Parents Were College Athletes Before He Was