OMAHA, NEBRASKA - JUNE 25: Jac Caglianone #14 of the Florida Gators celebrates with teammates after hitting a home run during the seventh inning of Game 2 of the NCAA College World Series baseball finals against the LSU Tigers at Charles Schwab Field on June 25, 2023 in Omaha, Nebraska. Florida defeated LSU 24-4.
Photo by Jay Biggerstaff/Getty Images

Florida Erupts After Setting College World Series Record With 24 Runs Against LSU

The team's reaction is priceless.

The LSU Tigers must have felt pretty good after winning Saturday's Game 1 of the Men's College World Series over the Florida Gators, but that was all but forgotten Sunday when the Gators evened the best-of-three series in historic fashion.

The final score was a massive 24-4.

The 24 runs were the most ever scored in a College World Series, breaking the record of 23 held by Arizona State vs. Oklahoma State in 1984 and Notre Dame vs. Northern Colorado in 1957.

The Gators scored one run in the second inning, six runs in the third inning, one in the fourth, five in the sixth, two in the seventh, four in the eighth and five in the ninth. They had 23 hits, and the Tigers had five errors.

On top of this historic performance, first baseman Jac Caglianone hit his 33rd home run of the season, topping the single-season home run record in the BBCOR era (involving the "batted ball coefficient of resistance" standard for composite bats).

According to the box score, the Gators had 51 at-bats, with eight players having two or more hits. Interestingly, the Tigers led 3-1 after two innings before the Gators scored six runs in the third.

In addition to Caglianone, Ty Evans had two home runs, including a solo shot in the second inning and a historical grand slam in the third inning.

Wyatt Langford, a top prospect in the upcoming MLB Draft, went five for five with six RBIs.

As you can see, most players from the Gators had a stellar performance in what was an incredible momentum-building outing as these two SEC schools head into Game 3.

Game 3 takes place Monday, June 26, at 7 p.m.

The winner takes home the title, and the Gators are seeking their second crown. (Their first? It came in 2017 against the Tigers.)

MORE: LSU Player Christian Little Goes Viral for On-Field Antics During College World Series