AP Photo/Wilfredo Lee

Alabama Dominates The SEC in Pro Football Hall of Famers

At the annual Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Canton, Ohio, NFL legends and Super Bowl winners will have their likenesses enshrined in the Hall alongside the best to ever play the game.

With every class enshrined, hoards of loyal fans flock to Ohio to see players they've watched since college earn the sport's highest honor. When it comes to SEC football, the main pipeline of NFL talent for years, the Alabama Crimson Tide take home another title, as if they didn't need another reason to be the premier program in college football.

When it comes to Alabama Crimson Tide alumni in the NFL, no SEC school has even close to as many Hall of Fame players as the Tide.

Alabama's eight inductees are far and away the most in the Southeastern Conference.

Colleges with Most Pro Football Hall of Famers

Notre Dame — 13
University of Southern California — 13
Michigan — 10
Ohio State — 10
Miami (FL) — 9
Pittsburgh — 9
Alabama — 8
Syracuse — 8
Minnesota — 7
Illinois — 6

Including the upcoming 2020 Pro Football Hall of Fame class, Arkansas has five inductees with Steve Atwater and Jimmy Johnson going in. LSU's fifth will be Kevin Mawae, while Georgia boasts four.

Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, Missouri, Ole Miss, and Tennessee each have two players enshrined. Texas A&M has one.

One look at Alabama's list, and you see why the Crimson Tide football program is the proud owner of over 900 wins and 17 national championships.

Alabama Players in Pro Football Hall of Fame

John Hannah, tackle
Don Hutson, wide receiver
Joe Namath, quarterback
Ozzie Newsome, tight end
Ken Stabler, quarterback
Bart Starr, quarterback
Dwight Stephenson, center
Derrick Thomas, linebacker

RELATED: All-Time Alabama Team: 24 of the Greatest Players on One Squad

On top of that, running back Shaun Alexander, linebacker Cornelius Bennett, and tackle Chris Samuels were Modern-Era semifinalists this past year and could extend Alabama's lead very soon.

This year's Pro Football Hall of Fame Centennial Class of 2020 is loaded. Modern-Era players going in include safety Steve Atwater, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, offensive lineman Steve Hutchinson, running back Edgerrin James, and safety Troy Polamalu. Head coaches Bill Cowher and Jimmy Johnson are going in, as well as three contributors — Steve Sabol, George Young, and longtime commissioner Paul Tagliabue.

The 10 seniors finally going in are Harold Carmichael, Jimbo Covert, Bobby Dillon, Cliff Harris, Winston Hill, Alex Karras, Donnie Shell, Duke Slater, Mac Speedie, and Ed Sprinkle.

The Crimson Tide are in the midst of the greatest dynasty football may have ever seen, so expect the record number of Hall of Famers to only rise after a lot Nick Saban-bred players retire from the NFL.

Once again, Alabama reigns supreme in something else, which should surprise no one.

This article was originally published August 3, 2018. It was updated to reflect the 2019 and 2020 HOF classes. 

MORE: Nick Saban Loses Sleep Over One Things, And It's Not LSU