LSU’s Joe Brady Named Nation’s Best Assistant Coach
AP Photo

In college football, superstar players get the press clippings for wins and head coaches get all of the blame for losses. An assistant coach is seldom in the conversation for success and failure in the grand scheme of things, but they are as important as anyone in a program.

Each and every season, like clockwork, The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation gives out the Broyles Award. It is designated for the top assistant coach in college football, and the list of finalists usually consist of amazing coaches working their way up the FBS ranks. This year was no different.

In 2019, fans across the country witnessed history. The LSU Tigers showcased an elite passing attack, the Auburn Tigers displayed their best defense in years, the Baylor Bears and Minnesota Golden Gophers elevated their games, and even the Utah Utes were in the running for the College Football Playoff.

It was hard a tough list to choose from, but the selection committee narrowed its list down to 15 semifinalists in late November.

2019 Broyles Award Semifinalists

AUBURN – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator
BAYLOR – Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
CLEMSON – Jeff Scott, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers
GEORGIA – Dan Lanning, Defensive Coordinator/Outside LBs
INDIANA – Kalen DeBoer, Offensive Coordinator/QB
LSU – Joe Brady, Passing Game Coordinator/WR
MICHIGAN – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator
MINNESOTA – Kirk Ciarrocca, Offensive Coordinator/QB
NAVY – Brian Newberry, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
OHIO STATE – Jeff Hafley, Co-Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
OKLAHOMA – Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/ Safeties
OREGON – Andy Avalos, Defensive Coordinator
SMU – Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator/QB
WISCONSIN – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator
UTAH – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties


One week later, the committee named its five finalists for the annual award.

2019 Broyles Award Finalists

BAYLOR – Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

GEORGIA – Dan Lanning, Defensive Coordinator/Outside LBs

LSU – Joe Brady, Passing Game Coordinator/WR

OHIO STATE – Jeff Hafley, Co-Defensive Coordinator/Secondary

UTAH – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

The 2018 Broyles Award winner was former Alabama offensive coordinator Mike Locksley, now the coach at Maryland. On December 10, a new assistant coach received the honor.

2019 Broyles Award: LSU’s Joe Brady

This should come as no surprise. After what LSU quarterback Joe Burrow did this season, it would be impossible not to give it passing coordinator Joe Brady. It was a very deserving award, but he also gave time to praise LSU offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Steve Esminger, too.

“This award should say Joe Brady/Steve Esminger. I’ll never forget that… There is not a greater person to work for than Steve Esminger and there is not a greater person that cares more about LSU and the success of this program. He doesn’t want to take credit for anything. I’m so grateful for Steve, and I hope to be him one day.”


No matter what happens in the College Football Playoff this season, there is no doubt this LSU team’s place in history. Joe Brady was a big part of that.

About the Frank Broyles Award

Frank Broyles, the namesake for the award, was College Football Hall of Fame inductee in 1963. He was an assistant coach at Florida and Georgia Tech before coaching at Missouri for one season and guiding Arkansas to the 1964 national championship.

The award for college football’s top assistant coach, in conjuncture with the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) selected its five from the list of nominees to attend the December 10th ceremony at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock, Arkansas, where the overall winner will be named.

READ MORE: Jalen Hurts Named Finalist for College Player of the Year

Brett Regan About the author:
With over 10 years of sports writing experience, Brett has covered some of the top local, regional, and national sporting events in the Heartland for both print and digital platforms. He is a graduate of Kansas State University and resides in Austin, Texas.
View More Articles

Stories You Might Like