Texas A&M Swim 4-Peat
Instagram: aggieswimdive

The Texas A&M Aggies women’s swimming and diving team won the Southeastern Conference Championships team title for the fourth year in a row, completing one of the rarest accomplishments in all of team sports, the 4-Peat! Texas A&M is only the third team to win at least four straight SEC women’s championships joining the Florida Gators and Georgia Bulldogs.

Winning a championship in team sports takes a lot to get everyone focused on the same page for a common goal, but to do it four times in a row is truly remarkable, and in a lot of sports nearly impossible. Everyone knows about Bill Russell and the Boston Celtics and their magical run from 1957 to 1966 when they won nine championships — including eight in a row — but think about all the other teams that had an opportunity and didn’t make it.

Just in the NBA alone, there were plenty of teams that had an opportunity, but fell short. The NBA’s Chicago Bulls’ 3-peated twice back in the 90’s, once from 1991-93 before Michael Jordan retired to play baseball for two years, then they did it again from 1996-98. Again, Jordan would retire before the 4-peat was possible.

In the current NBA, The Golden State Warriors have won three out of the last four NBA finals, while Lebron James alone has been to the finals eight years in a row but has only won three. In the NFL, the Buffalo Bills franchise went to the Superbowl four times in a row and lost them all.

The Aggies are part of a group of exceptional teams that have one or more championships in a row. Here they are:

  • University of Georgia’s women’s gymnastics team won four SEC titles from 1991 to 1994.
  • LSU Tigers women’s track team won four SEC titles from 1988 to 1991
  • The UCLA Bruins men’s basketball team won seven consecutive national titles in from 1967 to 1973.
  • The North Carolina Tar Heels women’s soccer team won an astounding nine national championships in a row from 1986 to 1994.
  • The New York Yankees of Major League Baseball won four championships in a row from 1936 to 193
  • The Montreal Canadiens won Hockey’s Stanley Cup five times in a row from 1950 to 1956.

This is a great accomplishment for not only Texas A&M, but women’s sports as a whole.


Read more Texas A&M University coverage here.

Stories You Might Like